top of page

First Chapter Challenge: Using Favorite Books as NaNoWriMo Prep

This blog post idea came from @BAWilsonWrites on Twitter. And it's such a good idea!

A few days ago, she wrote:

“I have this urge to read all the first chapters of all the books I love before I write again, but there's not enough time. #writerproblems

After exchanging comments, @BAWilsonWrites and I both decided to give it a try. We each made a small stack of favorites with the intention of reading the first chapter of the books we love, and readying ourselves for our own unwritten novels.

And... it's so fun! Like visiting old friends that I hadn't seen in years. And with NaNoWriMo only days away, it's hard to think of a better way to get the creative juices flowing than immersing myself in a variety of great first chapters.

But, as I sit here reading, I realize that there are so many things to get out of this exercise. Since I'm only reading a small portion of the novels, I can read with a purpose, and start thinking about the way I want write my own first chapter this November.

I recommend the "First Chapter Challenge" as a great way to spend these final days before NaNoWriMo. To get started, just choose 8-10 favorite books. But really think about your choices. Choose the favorites that inspire you, and have something to contribute to your future work-in-progress. (My choices pictured above).

For example, I know I want to write about characters on an isolated island, and that my WIP will have dark themes. So my choices reflect my writing-mood. Most deal with isolation, dark situations, and some even are set on islands. Reading just a little bit of each of these books got me warmed up, and excited, for my own novel.

Once you've chosen your books, read the first chapter. Simple as that. If the chapter is too long or short, or there are no chapters, then read about 10 pages. There is much to redeem from those 10 pages...

Along with inspiration, there are key aspects to observe and take away from your picks:

  1. First sentences. These are crucial. It's the first thing readers see, and it should draw them in immediately. What do your favorite novels' first sentences look like, and how do they work in keeping your interest? First sentences tell you so much. Learn from them.

  2. The root of your enjoyment. What is it that draws you into these novels? Is it the language? Plot? Character? Setting? Figure out what you enjoy, and learn how to reflect it in your own writing.

  3. POV. Are the novels written in first or third person? See how the authors use each perspective. What are the advantages of each?

  4. Vocab, vocab, vocab. This needs no explanation. Build your vocab arsenal, and get in writer-mode!

So, I have to confess, I immediately failed the challenge. Or I should say, I modified it almost immediately. I started reading the first 10 pages of John Fowles's The Collector, and I ended up reading the whole book. Then I started Agatha Christie's And Then There Were None, and did the same thing. But isn't that what good first chapters are supposed to do? Draw the reader in... and never let go.


bottom of page